<< Go To Back

FSWA announces 2017 award finalists
The News - Latest News
Written by Andy Behrens   

The Fantasy Sports Writers Association is pleased to announce finalists for our 2017 writing and media awards. This is the FSWA's fourteenth awards season. Our judges reviewed hundreds of nominees across 23 categories. Award winners will be announced on SiriusXM Fantasy Sports Radio on Tuesday, February 6. 

Finalists for 2017 are as follows: 

Racing Writer of the Year
Brian Polking, Scout Fantasy
Chad Robb, Fantasy Racing Tips
Mark Taylor, RotoWire
Stephen Young, RotoGrinders


Golf Writer of the Year
Adam Daly-Frey, Fantasy Golf Insider
Michael Riek, RotoWire
Gibb Pollard, RotoGrinders


College Sports Writer of the Year
John McKechnie, RotoWire
Jesse Siegel, RotoWire
Brad Evans, Yahoo Sports
Nick Grays, RotoWire


Soccer Writer of Year
Adam Zdroik, RotoWire
JD Bazzo, RotoWire
Kieran Darcy, ESPN
Andrew Laird, RotoWire


Basketball Writer of the Year
Ryan Knaus, Rotoworld
Jamie Calandro, Fantasy Team Advice
Benny Ricciardi, Fantasy Guru Elite


Hockey Writer of the Year
Colin Drew, DailyRoto
Doug Shain, US Fantasy Sports
Kenneth Le, Fantasy Guru Elite


Humor Article
Thomas McFeeley, RotoExperts
Sammy Reid, RotoGrinders
Chris Mitchell, RotoExperts


Newcomer of Year
James McCool, DailyRoto
Bobby Sylvester, Fantasy Pros
Doug Shain, US Fantasy Sports


Video of the Year
The Fantasy Football Hour, Altitude TV
Footballguys Daily Fantasy Hour, RotoGrinders
Fantasy Football Live, Yahoo Fantasy
Fantasy Alarm Gameday, Fantasy Alarm
Fantasy BFFs, FNTSY 


Radio Show of the Year
Chicago's Fantasy Football Today, WSCR 670 
Pro Football Focus, SiriusXM 
RotoWire Fantasy Sports Today, SiriusXM
Her Fantasy Football, SiriusXM
Fantasy Freestyle, FNTSY 


Best Fantasy Podcast, All/Multiple Sports
The Heat Check, numberFire
The Pat Mayo Experience, DraftKings
RotoGrinders Daily Fantasy Fix
RotoWire Basketball
RotoExperts Fantasy Sports Show


Best Fantasy Baseball Podcast
USA Today Fantasy
RotoWire Fantasy Baseball
The Sleeper and the Bust, RotoGraphs
FanRag Fantasy Baseball, FNTSY
The Solo Shot, numberFire


Best Fantasy Baseball Publication


Best Baseball Article, Print
Derek VanRiper, RotoWire
Tim McCullough, RotoExperts
Steve Gardner, USA Today


Best Baseball Article, Online
Jim Sannes, numberFire
Cam Giangrande, RotoExperts
Jason Collette, RotoWire


Best Baseball Series
Jake Ciely, RotoExperts
Mike Leone, DailyRoto
Scott Engel, RotoExperts


Baseball Writer of the Year
Mike Podhorzer, RotoGraphs
Chris Liss, RotoWire
Thomas McFeeley, RotoExperts
Todd Zola, Mastersball & RotoWire
Alex Chamberlain, RotoGraphs


Best Fantasy Football Podcast
Pro Football Focus
CBS Fantasy Football Today
Rotoworld Football Podcast
Harris Football Podcast
The Fantasy Footballers


Best Fantasy Football Publication
Football Diehards
Harris Football Almanac
Big Guy Fantasy Sports


Best Football Article, Print
Alex Gelhar, NFL Fantasy 
Jamey Eisenberg, CBS Sports
Gary Davenport, Fantasy Sharks & Bleacher Report
Brandon Marianne Lee, Her Fantasy Football
Alex McCarthy, Football Diehards


Best Football Article, Online
Jeff Ratcliffe, Pro Football Focus
Scott Pianowski, Yahoo Sports
Gary Davenport, Fantasy Sharks & Bleacher Report
Ken Daube, ESPN
JJ Zachariason, numberFire
Christopher Feery, Footballguys
Tyler Loechner, Pro Football Focus


Best Football Series
George Kritikos, Pro Football Focus
Armando Marsal, Football Diehards
Mike Castiglione, Pro Football Focus
Michael Moore, Pro Football Focus
Pat Fitzmaurice, The Football Girl
Tyler Loechner, Pro Football Focus
JJ Zachariason, numberFire


Football Writer of the Year
Jeff Ratcliffe, Pro Football Focus
JJ Zachariason, numberFire
Michael Florio, RotoExperts
Andrew Laird, RotoWire
Matt Bowen, ESPN
Armando Marsal, Football Diehards
Gary Davenport, Fantasy Sharks & Bleacher Report


RotoWire led all fantasy content providers with 17 finalist nods, followed by RotoExperts-DailyRoto with 13 and Pro Football Focus with nine. JJ Zachariason (numberFire), Jeff Ratcliffe (PFF), Gary Davenport (Fantasy Sharks), Andrew Laird (RotoWire), Armando Marsal (Football Diehards), Tyler Loechner (PFF), Thomas McFeeley (RotoExperts), Doug Shain (US Fantasy), Brandon Marianne Lee (Her Fantasy Football), Chris Harris (Harris Football), Jason Collette (RotoWire), Steve Gardner (USA Today), Jamey Eisenberg (CBS) and Scott Engel (RotoExperts) were each recognized in multiple categories. Congratulations to all finalists.