<< Go To Back

2011 Writing Award Finalists Announced

Winners of the 2011 FSWA Writing Awards have yet to be announced and Ladd Biro has already made history. The 2010 Football Writer of the Year is the first person ever to be a finalist two years in a row (and one of only two writers to earn more than one finalist nod -- Brad Evans, 2009 and 2011).

Biro isn’t the only writer with a chance to defend his title from last year. Cory Bonini (football print), David Regan (baseball writer), Chris Liss (baseball print), The Sporting News (baseball publication), Janet Eagelson (hockey writer) and Evans (college writer) are all repeat finalists. Evans has a chance to join Christopher Harris and Mark Taylor as the only writers to win the same award three years in a row (Harris and Taylor both won for Racing Writer of the Year).

RotoExperts and RotoWire both totaled 13 finalists for this year’s awards, with Yahoo! (4) and ESPN (3) ranking third and fourth, respectively. This year’s winners will be announced at the FSTA Winter Conference in Las Vegas on January 17. Sirius XM plans to broadcast the event (day/time TBD).

Here is a list of this year’s finalists:

Football Writer of the Year
Ladd Biro, Fantasy Fools
Brad Evans, Yahoo!
Alessandro Miglio, ProFootballFocus

Best Football Series
Adam Levitan, RotoWorld
Mario Puig, RotoWire
Scott White, CBS Sports

Best Football Article in Print
Bill Bender, The Sporting News
Cory Bonini, KFFL
Jeff Stotts, RotoWire

Best Football Article on the Web
John Georgopoulos, Sports Grumblings
Alessandro Miglio, ProFootballFocus
Jeff Paur, RealTime

Best Football Print Publication
Pro Forecast
Sports Illustrated

Baseball Writer of the Year
Tim McCullough, RotoExperts
David Regan, RotoWire
Chris Ryan, RotoExperts

Best Baseball Series
Tristan Cockcroft, EPSN
Ray Flowers, Baseball Guys
Michael Rathburn, RotoExperts

Best Baseball Article in Print
Andy Behrens, Yahoo!
Chris Liss, RotoWire
David Regan, RotoWire

Best Baseball Article on the Web
Tristan Cockcroft, ESPN
Adam McFadden, RotoExperts
David Regan, RotoWire

Best Baseball Print Publication
The Sporting News

Basketball Writer of the Year
Carson Cistulli, RotoWire
John Cregan, ESPN
Justin Phan, Yahoo!

Hockey Writer of the Year
Daniel Dobish, RotoExperts
Janet Eagleson, RotoWire
Mark McLarney, RotoWire

College Sports Writer of the Year
Brad Evans, Yahoo!
Matthew De Lima, RotoExperts
Jesse Siegel, RotoWire

Racing Writer of the Year
Adam Ansell, RotoExperts
Daniel Dobish, RotoExperts
Brian Polking, KFFL

Golf Writer of the Year
Daniel Dobish, RotoExperts
Patrick Mayo, RotoExperts
Eric McClung, FF Toolbox

Best Humor Article
Ladd Biro, Fantasy Fools
Mike Gilbert, RotoExperts
Patrick Mayo, RotoExperts

Newcomer of the Year
Mark Bloom, RotoExperts
Andrew Fiorentino, RotoWire
Luke Hoover, RotoWire